Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: SEO - The importance of linking?

SEO - The importance of linking? 12 years 4 months ago #2073

• Klement
  • MSB Junior Member
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey guys,

I'm new to MySmallBusiness.com and would love to share my first thought.

I recently started investigating website SEO optimization. It seems like the ranking systems change regularly and it's really difficult to keep up with the latest rules, regulations and ethics of SEO.

What I'm wondering, it seems like current practice is mostly based on the amount of back linking a site gets. As far as I understand this is website sharing a link to your site on their website. Does this still apply today and what is the best way to utilize this technique, is it still relevant today?

In my spare time as a hobby I help out with some smaller websites, one of the main sites I help out is Avbob. Although the site has major competition and its less than a year old it already reached the number 2 spot on Google on certain keywords without the use of any adwords. I would love to be able to improve this ranking to become more consistent, I am in no way an expert on this, still have tons to learn...

Any advice on the above matter will be greatly appreciated...

Thanks so much!
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Empexus

Re: SEO - The importance of linking? 12 years 4 months ago #2074

• Shelley Finch
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 2
Google recently changed it's algorithm to place greater emphasis on sites with more recent/fresher content so that certainly comes into play.

searchengineland.com/google-search-algor...35-of-searches-99856

Back linking is definitely an important part of getting better ranking, but links must be RELEVANT or Google will most likely penalize you.

I find that the most up to date information on SEO can be found on www.searchenginewatch.com.

Good luck! :)