Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Please review my site

Please review my site 12 years 2 months ago #2281

• Olivia Johnson
  • MSB Junior Member
  • A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle
www.olivezcandlez.wozaonline.co.za

I'm VERY new at all of this, so half the time I don't know what I'm doing lol.

Any hints, tips, advice, criticism is welcome. I'm here to learn :)

Thanks,
Olive
web: www.olivezcandlez.co.za

facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/OlivezCandlez/187101278002203

"Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." --Winston Churchill
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Please review my site 12 years 2 months ago #2284

• Jovana
  • MSB Junior Member
  • Thank you received: 2
Hi Olivia,

If you're serious about moving your business online, having a "extended domain" from a third party won't do.

A domain name costs R120 through webafrica per year. You can find "okayish" hosting in SA for about R30. Look overseas (think Hostgator, Bluehost, etc) and you can find amazing hosting for R150.

Why is this important?

You're essentially entrusting that all of your business website content will be on a third-party provider. What happens if they have a down time? How about if their server crashes from a hack? What will you do then?

Secondly, when you come online, it extends to how you do business offline. You need to grow YOUR brand. The only way to do this is to have a domain name that you can refer people to... olivezcandles.co.za or www.olivezcandlez.wozaonline.co.za/ . How will that address look on a business card?

If you do promote that address, what happens when you start to work on SEO or Social media?

Your current design doesn't do your products justice. The design is weak. The formatting of the page is difficult to get through. You're not really promoting your products the way they should be done.

Hope this helps.